Common Foods One Can Eat When Following a Gluten-Free Diet


While gluten is safe for most people, for those who suffer from celiac disease, it is best to remain clear from it. This is because they may have to suffer from severe side effects if they consume gluten. With many foods having gluten in them, leading a gluten-free diet can often feel restrictive. However, more often than not, people are simply unaware of the type of foods that are completely safe to consume even on a gluten-free diet. The following are some such foods: · 

Whole Grains: The fact is that only a select few whole grains contain gluten. Aside from those, the rest are gluten-free and are safe to consume. However, when getting whole grains, it is imperative to check the label to make sure one is getting non-gluten variants. In some cases, despite being gluten-free, being operated in the same facility as gluten whole grains may lead to contamination. As such, strict vigilance in this regard is recommended. · 

Fruits and Vegetables: Fruits and vegetables are two very large types of foods that are naturally gluten-free. This opens up a lot of possibilities for people on a gluten-free diet, allowing them to make dishes from a much wider selection. One thing to keep in mind is that processed fruits and vegetables may contain some amounts of gluten in them. These usually get added as a way of enhancing the thickness and flavor. For this reason, whenever getting fruits and vegetables, making sure that they are not processed, is the way to go. Usually canned, frozen and dried foods suffer from this issue.  · 

Protein: Proteins are also largely gluten free. One has the choice of eating nuts, legumes, red meat, seafood and poultry, among others. However, something to note is that ingredients such as flour or soy sauce getting added to protein is troublesome. Additionally, processed meats or meat substitutes often contain gluten in them and should thus be avoided. · 

Dairy Products: People on a gluten-free diet can consume a wide selection of dairy products. This is because they are naturally gluten-free. However, gluten is often added in certain dairy products to make them thicker. Milk, cheese cream and similar options are safe. But, keeping an eye out for flavorings, processed items and additives is vital. With the use of specialty ingredients on the rise, dishes like gluten free pizza are becoming a reality. As a result, the choice of foods available in a gluten-free diet is increasing day by day.  


Comments 1